Skip to main content

2020 Legislative Endorsements

28 Jul, 2020
Social share icons

The Southeast Minnesota Area Labor Council and Minnesota AFL-CIO have finalized the 2020 endorsements for state legislative offices within the 16 counties of Southeast Minnesota.

“Southern Minnesota has been deeply and devastatingly affected by COVID-19. As the united labor movement of Southeast Minnesota and a politically independent organization, we are focused on worker safety and revitalizing our communities, so no working family faces economic uncertainty or financial hardship,” said Pommella Wegmann, SEMNALC president. “We trust that the candidates who have earned our endorsement will be strong partners and allies in enacting legislation that protects our jobs, our right to organize, and the health and safety of all working families.”

Assistant Senate Minority Leader Nick Frentz (DFL, Senate District 19) has a 100% lifetime labor voting record. "I'm extremely proud to have earned the endorsement of the Southeast Minnesota Area Labor Council. It should be the goal of every elected official to give a voice to working men and women, and to protect the bargaining rights - and safety - of our workforce.” Frentz said.

The SEMNALC and Minnesota AFL-CIO are proud to endorse the following candidates:

Minnesota State Senate

Senator Nick Frentz, Senate District 19, Democratic Farmer Labor Party

Senator Dave Senjem, Senate District 25, Republican Party of Minnesota

Aleta Borrud, Senate District 26, Democratic Farmer Labor Party

Senator Dan Sparks, Senate District 27, Democratic Farmer Labor Party

Senator Jeremy Miller, Senate District 28, Republican Party of Minnesota

Minnesota State House

Representative Jeff Brand, House District 19A, Democratic Farmer Labor Party

Luke Frederick, House District 19B, Democratic Farmer Labor Party

Representative Todd Lippert, House District 20B, Democratic Farmer Labor Party

Elise Diesslin, House District 21B, Democratic Farmer Labor Party

Leroy McClelland, House District 23B, Democratic Farmer Labor Party

Liz Boldon, House District 25B, Democratic Farmer Labor Party

Randy Brock, House District 26B, Democratic Farmer Labor Party

The SEMNALC invited most incumbents and challengers to participate in the screening and endorsement process. Each candidate completed a questionnaire and a 30-minute virtual screening with members of the Committee on Political Education. The COPE committee then recommended the candidates who best embody Labor's values and priorities to the SEMNALC Executive Board and 75-member MN AFL-CIO General Board for consideration. 

The Southeast Minnesota Area Labor Council, AFL-CIO is the united labor movement of 40,000 union members in Blue Earth, Dodge, Faribault, Fillmore, Freeborn, Goodhue, Houston, Le Sueur, Mower, Nicollet, Olmsted, Rice, Steele, Wabasha, Waseca, and Winona counties.

 We are dedicated to improving the lives of all working families, and we strive daily to dismantle systems of oppression. We affirm the freedom of collective bargaining and believe in the dignity of work for all – regardless of race, ethnicity, age, gender identity, sexual orientation, religion, disability, economic class, education level, or immigration status.